New Year’s in San Francisco

In 2014 I am destined to face many challenges concerning my paleo journey. What better way to kick off the new year than a trip to San Francisco. From Union Square to Fisherman’s Wharf, there are tons of exciting things to see and do. 

wharfguitar

My boyfriend and I began our trip with a short one-hour drive into the city, passing over the iconic Golden Gate Bridge along the way. The city was crowded with New Year’s Day visitors and tourists, and the streets were bustling with activity. On our first night there finding food was a bit of an adventure. We wandered the streets surrounding our hotel in Union Square asking to see menus at countless restaurants along the way. We finally settled on a steakhouse where I ordered a dish with a white fish and veggies.

Our second day in the city by the bay was much easier to find restaurants with paleo-friendly options. We started our day with a trolly car ride to Fisherman’s Warf where we ordered a crab to share. We just squeezed some fresh lemon over the crab and enjoyed!

Fresh crab from the bay

Fresh crab from the bay

We wandered around and found ourselves at Pier 39. We chose to eat at Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. We got some shrimp to share as an appetizer, then I ordered the Pear and Berry Salad without cheese or dressing. It comes with chicken on it, and it was very tasty!

Can you see the resemblance?

Can you see the resemblance?

Salad from Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.

Pear and Berry Salad from Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.

That night for dinner we went to the Rainforest Cafe on Jefferson St. Whenever I have the opportunity, I love visiting this restaurant. It’s so fun inside. This company completely commits to it’s theme from the floor to the ceilings- there are plants and animals (fake, of course) all over the walls, and some of the animals are animatronic- they move and make lifelike noises. If you’ve never been to one, I highly recommend going! By the time we made it to the Rainforest Cafe, I was pretty exhausted. I don’t remember exactly what I ordered…sorry! I do know that it was a salad with chicken and no dressing though…very exciting, I know.

We caught a cab back to our hotel in Union Square and called it a night. We had to be up early the next morning (5am…yikes!) for my wonderful boyfriend to take me to the airport for my next adventure.

This short trip to San Francisco for the first few days of January was my first encounter with being away from my house and attempting to eat paleo. For anyone just starting out on a paleo diet, I highly recommend requesting the gluten-free menu (most restaurants have one now) and ordering from there. This will at least guarantee your food won’t have gluten, then just order a dish with no grains – with just veggies and meat (fruit and nuts are ok, too). The most valuable lesson I learned from this trip is that usually salads from a gluten free menu are a safe option, so when in doubt I will order a salad from now on. Following the rules of a paleo diet was difficult while traveling, but it was well worth the effort.

One thought on “New Year’s in San Francisco

  1. SFO is in the top ten of my all time favourite cities. I lived in Monterey before moving to West GA and I loved the vibe in SFO/NorCal. The next time you’re in the city, head over to the Ferry Building when it’s time to grab some grub; I’m sure you’ll find a lot of healthy, Paleo eats there.

    I’m looking forward to following your blog.

Leave a Reply

