The Perfect Balance

Yep, that's me! Proof I can do some pull-ups.

Yep, that’s me! Proof that I can do some pull-ups.

Both what you put into your body and what you physically do with your body are important factors for overall health. You can eat a perfect diet and not exercise at all, and you won’t be healthy. On the opposite end of the spectrum, you can spend hours upon hours in the gym, and you may LOOK amazing and “ripped,” but if you eat like crap — example: the If It Fits Your Macros (IIFYM) trend –, your body won’t feel great, you may develop health problems like acne (or something much more serious), and there’s a strong chance your internal organs are inflamed and unhealthy. Finding the perfect balance between diet and exercise is crucial for optimum health.

Within the realm of fitness, there are three key components: strength training, cardio, and flexibility training. Finding a way to incorporate all three components is ideal. There is no magical combination or fitness routine that will automatically make you look and feel amazing. It’s all about listening to your body and tailoring a program that fits for you based on your body and goals.

 

Neon Run 5k in San Francisco. It was a blast!

Neon Run 5k in San Francisco. It was a blast!

For 2014, I have made a few personal fitness goals. I plan on running at least 3 times per week (essentially every-other day), doing CrossFit 3 times per week (WODs are posted daily on http://www.crossfit.com), and doing yoga a minimum of twice per week. I plan on giving this routine a month or two to see how it feels, and then adjust it accordingly if needed.

Squats and Deadlifts..my favorite!

Squats and Deadlifts..my favorite!

I also have a few specific goals I would like to accomplish in 2014. As far as running goes, I want to finish a 5k in under 21 minutes (my best time to date is 23:22 and was done in November 2013) and I want to participate in a half-marathon. I also want to be able to do 15 pull-ups (strict) in a row by the end of the year. Training begins NOW.

What are your thoughts on fitness, and what is your routine like? I would love to hear your thoughts and opinions!

2 thoughts on “The Perfect Balance

  1. Great job at finding a balance of diet and working out that suits you. For many of us it is hard to accomplish both aspects of trying to become fit because we feel as if we only have the energy for one or the other. But as you stated it is criticle that we both eat right and work out in order to stay fit. Great job and keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

