A Day in Review – 01/16/14

Today was day 16 on a fully-paleo diet. The day began with a nice walk to Peet’s Coffee with my boyfriend, James, and our dog, Roxie. We enjoyed our coffee outside and walked back home before sharing a cantaloupe for breakfast.

pup

After breakfast we did our WOD – 20 minutes AMRAP of 15 sit-ups and 21 deadlifts (I did 70lbs) and completed 7 rounds. As usual with Crossfit, the workouts sound much easier than they actually are. As I’m writing this right before bed, I can already tell I’ll be extremely sore tomorrow.

After the workout, I made a scramble with bell peppers, celery, and 5 eggs for the two of us. We quickly showered, got ready for the day, and made a trip to Costco.

We go through tons of produce very quickly so buying things in bulk is the cheapest and easiest way to go about eating Paleo. I’ve been cooking exclusively paleo meals for both James and myself. He is completely on board with it and enjoys eating anything I put in front of him (after all, the best way to a man’s heart it through his stomach). We bought chicken breasts, ground turkey, tilapia, baby spinach and mixed greens, tons of other veggies and fruit, and bags of raw almonds and walnuts.

Once we got back to the house, I put away the groceries and made lunch while James checked off a few things on his “honey-do” list. We had baked sweet potatoes with just a pinch of cinnamon, broccoli, and chicken.

After lunch we ran a few more errands and did some chores around the house. As dinner time rolled around, I began prepping the spaghetti squash. Tonight was my first time cooking it, and I’ll admit that I was a little nervous. I also made meat balls with ground turkey and spicy Italian sausage. Dinner turned out great, and this meal will probably end up appearing as a regular on future weeknight menus for us.

sqagsquash

spagettisquash

Day 16 on a fully-paleo lifestyle: complete.

Leave a Reply

