Weekend in Review: 01/18 – 01/19/14

This weekend was the first of the year in which I’ve settled into a routine. The fridge has been stocked, a workout schedule has been determined, and I’ve recovered from my exciting trips from the past two weeks.

Friday:

On Friday, I ate the usual paleo meals. I had some salad with chicken, and it was a rest day so no workout for me. Friday night was pretty exciting, though. My boyfriend and I went out with a group of friends in Downtown Sacramento for the night. We first went to Sapporo Grill, and I was ecstatic to find out that there was a sushi roll I could order that was paleo-approved. I ordered the Beautiful roll, which is a cucumber-wrapped roll with snow crab, daikon sprouts, tuna, salmon, and hamachi. If you are a sushi-lover in the Sacramento area attempting to eat a paleo diet, I highly recommend giving Sapporo Grill’s Beautiful roll a try…it exceeded my expectations!

Next we went to a few bars then to a club (I’m not much of a partier, so this was an abnormal Friday night for us!). I rarely drink, so just a few shots of tequila was enough for me for the night (I usually prefer beer, but sadly, beer isn’t paleo in the slightest). We danced the night away, which ended up turning into a workout in itself!

Saturday:

In the morning, we slowly got up around 9am and had our coffee. I made James some scrambled eggs for breakfast, and I had leftover spaghetti squash with meat sauce (this was my breakfast two days in a row…so good!!). I then cleaned the downstairs and prepped lunch, because we had invited a few friends over for the afternoon. They are not paleo and didn’t know much about the lifestyle, so they were excited for me to cook for them so they could see what it was all about. I made bacon wrapped meatballs over roasted butternut squash from PaleOMG (but substituted ground turkey for the meatballs instead of pork, and used real onions and garlic on the squash instead of powdered) and a colorful mixed salad. I also cooked up a pot of white rice for them just in case they wanted it. The four of us demolished all the food (minus half the rice), and the meal was a big hit!

Image

Recipe and Image by Juli on her blog PaleOMG- http://paleomg.com

Sunday:

James and I began our Sunday morning with a quick cup of coffee followed by a 2 mile walk (round trip) with our dog Roxie to the pet store. When we got back to the house we did our workout for the day – “Cindy XXX” (which was posted to the CrossFit website last Saturday.):

Complete as much as possible in 20 minutes of:
10 Pull-ups
20 Push-ups
30 Squats
15 Pull-ups
30 Push-ups
45 Squats
20 Pull-ups
40 Push-ups
60 Squats
25 Pull-ups
50 Push-ups
75 Squats
30 Pull-ups
60 Push-ups
90 Squats

James got almost all the way through the workout before our time was up (just minus a few reps), and I made it through 56/75 squats in the progression (I did assisted pull-ups with a band, and had to switch to knee push-ups halfway through). As usual with CrossFit workouts, they are much more exhausting than one would expect just from reading the workout.

Right after our workout was finished, I made lunch: almond crusted tilapia, sweet potato fries, and a side salad. Yum! While lunch was cooking, I also cooked two chicken breasts and three sweet potatoes (I like having baked sweet potatoes on hand in the fridge for whenever I feel like I need a quick pick-me-up).

James works on Sundays so I packed him a salad (mixed greens, walnuts, chicken, Italian dressing), some beef jerky, an apple, a dried fruit and nut mix (from Costco) and some veggies.

As I write this, it is almost 4pm. I plan on doing some chores around the house and starting up a new book (James and I both have a goal to read >1 book per month).

This weekend was packed with a lot of excitement and success as far as diet and exercise go. Bring on a new week of challenges!

Leave a Reply

