Day 20 – Monday 1/20/14

As I wrap up my 20th day of my paleo challenge for 2014, I can’t help but to be at least a little proud of myself. As of today, I have accomplished many things that seemed out of reach when I began working towards my goal of having a fully paleo year. I’ve tried over 10 new recipes (which is more than I did for the entire year of 2013, probably), I’ve gone longer than I ever have without consuming dairy or grains (let’s face it…I was addicted to bread and starchy carbs of all kinds…but not anymore!), and I’ve lost 7 lbs (ok, the weight loss is just a side effect. I didn’t aim to lose any weight, but I figured it was bound to happen). I’d say that 2014 is off to an excellent start, and I can’t wait to see how much more I can accomplish this year.

Today’s recap:

Breakfast: 1 egg + 1 banana + coffee

WOD: 4 rounds of run .5 mile, rest 90 seconds (times: 3:37, 3:43, 3:42, 3:37  –  total time: 14:39 for 2 miles – 7:20 avg. pace per mile) I was happy to have a day off from weight training, since nearly every muscle in my body was already sore.

photo

Lunch: 1/2 chicken breast + broccoli + roasted butternut squash + 1 sweet potato

Snacks: 1 apple + 1 banana + 1/2 cup mixed nuts (walnuts, almonds, pistachios, dried cherries)

Dinner: 1 sweet potato + 1/2 chicken breast (I intended on having a salad, but ate dinner while cleaning the kitchen and just completely forgot to eat it!)

Dessert: 1 cup organic peppermint tea (no sweetener) + 1.5 oz dark chocolate (yum!)

I’ve come to realize through these past 20 days that I absolutely love sweet potatoes. Like, they are now my favorite food. It’s pretty ridiculous how much I love them. I’m glad that I work out a fair amount, because that halfway justifies how many I like to eat nearly every day.

 

4 thoughts on “Day 20 – Monday 1/20/14

    • I definitely do have a lot of fun in the kitchen, experimenting with new dishes. Thanks for the comment! You should give a few of my recipes a try and let me know how you like it 😉

  1. Thanks for the follow! Also love the premise of your blog- You’re going to see such great results

    I know a lot of people who eat Paleo and really enjoy it. I’m sticking with clean eating for now, but I might venture over into the Paleo realm here soon. And I totally agree…sweet patatoes are so amazing! Keep with the great work, I look forward to reading more of your adventures!

    • Thank you! Yes I love the Paleo lifestyle so far…I’ve been seeing great results in energy levels and in my body. If you’re on the fence about it, I highly recommend giving it a try (start with 30 days!).

      Thanks for the kind words!

Leave a Reply

