Tuesday 01/21/14

Today, I was extremely productive. It was awesome.

I began my day as usual, with a cup of coffee. But before I had my coffee, I did a number of things: made the bed, got a load of laundry going, and unloaded the dishwasher. BAM. Productive from the moment I woke up. I should have known that this was a good sign!

After coffee and breakfast (breakfast: 2 bananas + 2 eggs), I decided to get a little crafty and create a menu board. I’ve been wanting to make one for a while now so that I can display in my kitchen a week’s worth of upcoming meals. Today was the day I made it happen. BANG! Another item checked off my list.

My menu board in a frame, so I can use a dry-erase marker to write in my meals!

My framed dry-erase menu board – “Cooking is love made visible”(in my hideous handwriting!)

IMG_4048

Later in the day I had a lunch of sweet potato and a salad with a little bit of chicken. It was the perfect simple lunch to keep me going throughout my busy day!

sweetpotatolunch011214

After lunch, I went continued with my tasks for a few hours until I got hungry. I had an apple and some walnuts for a snack. Then, I decided to bake! I chose to make some Pumpkin Dark Chocolate Chunk Muffins (I adapted my recipe from PaleOMG’s Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffin recipe). They turned out pretty tasty! This was my first attempt at paleo baking, and I’m extremely proud of my effort. Yum! Perfect dessert to end my day. My recipe for Pumpkin Dark Chocolate Chunk Muffins

pumpkinmuffins

pumpkinmuffins3

My recipe filled up 6 muffin tins and I had a tiny bit of batter left over. I didn’t want to waste it, so I decided to make a pancake out of it. I know it sounds weird, but it actually turned out perfectly! So tonight I made a muffin and a pancake recipe…by accident! What a delicious surprise. For my Pumpkin Dark Chocolate Chunk Pancake recipe, click here!

This is not the best photo ever…sorry! I'll update photo soon

This is not the best photo ever…sorry! I’ll update photo soon

For dinner I had another sweet potato, 2 eggs, and a handful of sugar snap peas (plus 1 pancake and 2 muffins!). Today was my rest day, so I didn’t do an intense workout. I plan on doing about 30 minutes of yoga and stretching tonight before bed, because it feels like almost every muscle in my body is sore! If you try out either of my recipes, let me know! I would love to hear about it.

Until next time!

 

Leave a Reply

