January in Review

Ok, so I’ve officially made it over a month being on the paleo diet. I’m feeling pretty comfortable with it now, especially when we are just eating at home. I’ve found some amazing recipes and have really gotten used to not having any sort of grains with my meals (I used to eat bread with almost every meal).

I never thought I’d say this, but I actually have gotten somewhat used to eating out as well. I learned to start asking for the gluten-free menu and ordering from there, unless I felt like ordering salad or something a la carte. I have a slight feeling of sadness when we go to eat at Mexican restaurants and my boyfriend gets to eat the chips and salsa they bring to the table, but it quickly fades once I realize how proud I am of myself for not giving into the temptation staring at me.

Found this on the internet…thought it was pretty funny ;)

Found this on the internet…thought it was pretty funny, despite the poor grammar  😉

Although I did stick to eating paleo in January, my fitness regimen has been shoved to the side a little bit. I spent the first two weeks of the month traveling and am just now getting fully acclimated to the lifestyle back at home. James and I have been walking our dog Roxie pretty regularly for at least a mile a day, and we have been doing CrossFit workouts together a few times a week. With that being said, I realize that I haven’t been completely ignoring fitness, but I feel the strong need to crank it up a notch. My motivation: I’m a bridesmaid in my friend’s wedding the first week of March, and I NEED to look my best in that dress! 😉

I’m trying to keep my fitness goals for February realistic:

Run 3 days per week – 2.5 – 3.5 miles(about every-other day)

CrossFit 2 days per week

Strength training 3 days per week: 5 rounds of: 10 pull-ups (mostly assisted), 20 squats, 10 burpees (the 5 rounds can be split up throughout the day or done all at once)

Yoga 5 days per week

For the month of February, I also want to try and check in on this blog at the end of every day with a recap on what I ate and what workout I completed. I think that will help keep me in check a little better! I would love to hear any advise you all have on creating a workout schedule that works for you, and sticking to it!

Leave a Reply

