Baked Sweet Potato Recipe

Sweet potatoes are pretty much the only “starchy carb” I eat. But, I eat them nearly every day. They are delicious and satisfying, and crazy easy to make. They are high in vitamin C and vitamin B6, and can last in your fridge (cooked) for up to a week. I like to cook 7 at a time, and eat one per day for a week before making up a new batch.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

Ingredients:

  • Sweet Potatoes (as many as desired)
  • Olive Oil
  • Cinnamon (optional)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Wash and scrub sweet potatoes with a vegetable brush to knock off dirt. Dry thoroughly.
  3. Prick sweet potatoes with a fork all over. Place on a foil-lined baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil, rubbing oil into potatoes with hands to ensure even coating. (I highly recommend NOT wrapping the sweet potatoes in foil)
  4. Place baking sheets with sweet potatoes in oven and bake for 55 minutes – 1 hour, depending on size of sweet potatoes (they are done when fork-tender).
  5. You can eat the sweet potatoes “as-is” (simple and yummy!), or you can split open the skin and sprinkle cinnamon on top. If adding cinnamon, I suggest using a fork to mash sweet potatoes within the skin so the cinnamon is distributed throughout.

I hope you enjoy this simple recipe!  The skin turns out to be caramelized and delicious…don’t forget to eat that part for extra nutrients! I never knew I liked sweet potatoes until I went paleo, and I’m so glad I discovered my love for them. They are great for pre or post-workout, or just an excellent side dish with breakfast, lunch and dinner. Enjoy!

 

2 thoughts on “Baked Sweet Potato Recipe

  1. Sweet potatoes are awesome. I’ve had them this way before, and it is superb. Keep the good recipes coming! I’m taking your advice and incorporating a healthy diet to go along with my exercise. Thanks for your kind words of encouragement!

Leave a Reply

