The Zombie Run

Being active is extremely important for overall health. Does this mean that you must spend hours upon hours in the gym? Absolutely not! Getting plenty of exercise can be fun and exciting…and can even include…zombies

Just as the zombie craze is picking up in regards to television and movies, it is also gaining popularity in the fitness arena. The Zombie Run is a 5k where “zombies” chase after you, trying to steal your flags (a.k.a. life), while you run and complete several obstacles. I participated in The Zombie Run in Sacramento about a month ago, and I have to say, it was the most entertaining 5k I’ve ever ran.

I'm on the left! :)

I’m on the left! 🙂

 

I did this run with some of my family and my boyfriend. There were all different types of obstacles, ranging from mud pits that you must run through to 15 foot walls to climb over. It was extremely fun and a great team-building event that I highly recommend. It was much more of a “fun run” than a serious 5k (if that’s not obvious), as they didn’t even have a clock going for people to see their times coming in. But it was extremely entertaining!

If you’ve participated in The Zombie Run or other mud runs, another great one to do is Tough Mudder. This is a much more serious event, consisting of a 10-12 mile run with 20 obstacles that are much more daunting than those found at The Zombie Run. I completed this one with a group of friends last summer, and it was very challenging! It took us about 5 hours to complete.

If you’re looking for something fun to spice up your exercise and activities, I recommend trying out one of these mud runs. So much fun, you hardly realize you are working out.

Leave a Reply

